Dear Mr. Fry

I rarely read autobiographies, but when I do pick one up, it either has to make me cry or make me laugh out loud (one would use the abbreviation LOL right about now). Thankfully, Mr. Fry had me giggling. Moab is my Washpot by Stephen Fry is one of the books that I am currently reading. You may be asking yourself, who is this Fry? Well, he is a British, well-respected, Cambridge graduate, intellectual and happy comedian. Put it this way, if the world spoke like Stephen Fry, then mankind would be in a better place. Consequently, I haven’t a clue what ‘Moab is my Washpot’ actually means. Although I do believe it’s from the bible. If you still do not know who Stephen Fry is, then you must already know Hugh Laurie. Fry and Laurie are equalled to bread and butter.

“I am a lover of truth, a worshiper of freedom, a celebrant at the altar of language and purity and tolerance.”  Stephan Fry

Moab is my Washpot is an autobiography about Stephen Fry’s first twenty years of his life. It’s an incredibly honest account of his childhood, filled with satire and a charming wit. Indeed, this book is filled with curses and swearing, but that is the charisma of Mr. Fry. His love of words is why I truly admire him. In today’s society, you rarely see a man who can speak freely as he.

Overall, I am thoroughly enjoying my read of Stephen Fry and I am definitely reading his other autobiographies in the near future.

9 thoughts on “Dear Mr. Fry

  1. I didn’t know who you were talking about until you said Hugh Laurie. Their “Piano Masterclass” is hilarious. I’ll have to check this out. I’m ready for some humor!

  2. I think the better question is ‘What isn’t Stephen Fry?’
    I didn’t know he was a friend with Hugh Laurie – I love Hugh Laurie too! (And not because of House! Er).

    I have had this book sitting in my (or rather my parents’) library for ages. I should read already.
    By the way, I really think you’d enjoy this video of him: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIPeDMa28jI. I published it in my blog a few days ago – it’s fantastic.

  3. Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie, and Rowan Atkinson were part of the ensemble cast that acted in the four seasons of hilarity called “Black-Adder”. It ranks right up there with John Cleese and friends when they did “Faulty Towers”. Stephen Fry has his best roles in Season 4 of Black-Adder (the World War I) skits.

  4. Pingback: Moab is my washpot | Selections from my tower of shame

Leave a Reply

