My Literary Zion

I first read this book in college for a Magical Realism class.  I was struggling with the unfamiliar genre and found the first few books weird and extremely difficult to comprehend.  Then I started reading See Under: Love.  It was an eye-opening experience, literally.  I devoured it and the whole time I was reading I could feel the wide-eyed expression on my face.  It was the first, but not the last, book that had ever done that to me.  That was 12 years ago.  In those 12 years, I forgot the title of the book, but never it’s impact.  I thought about it when I went to the library but the librarians weren’t able to help me find the book based on my description.  I asked a friend who worked at Borders to help, to no avail.  I eventually found what I was looking for on goodreads.com.   I ordered it from an online used bookstore and I just started reading it again.  It’s every bit as wonderful as I remember.

The story is about the consequences of the Holocaust on survivors, their children, and the Jewish people.  It’s a tale of history and transcendence.  If you’ve never read Magical Realism before, it takes some getting used to, but it’s well worth the effort.  My only regret is that I can’t read it in the original Hebrew, a language of poetic nuance that I fear may be lost in translation.  As much as I love this book, I can’t help but wonder what I’m missing.  (Note:  If you’re not familiar with Bruno Schulz and his novel Street of Crocodiles, I recommend at least doing a quick Google search, as Part II of See Under: Love is directly related to it.  It’s not necessary, but will greatly enhance the experience.)

2 thoughts on “My Literary Zion

  1. Thanks for the link. It was beautiful and very weird, just like the book! No one has heard of this book and I can’t figure out why. It’s simply fantastic. Let me know what you think after you read it.

Leave a Reply

