June Staff Picks

NOIRCIPLUME RECOMMENDS:

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is one of my favourite authors. If I was fluent in Spanish, I would read all of his books in the original language. The Shadow of the Wind grips you from beginning to end. It’s one of those books where you could spend the entire day reading it. The story is filled with plots and twists to keep the reader guessing until the very end. A must read for any reader who likes a good mystery.

Synopsis from the publisher:

Hidden in the heart of the old city of Barcelona is the ‘cemetery of lost books’, a labyrinthine library of obscure and forgotten titles that have long gone out of print. To this library, a man brings his 10-year-old son Daniel one cold morning in 1945. Daniel is allowed to choose one book from the shelves and pulls out ‘La Sombra del Viento’ by Julian Carax.

But as he grows up, several people seem inordinately interested in his find. Then, one night, as he is wandering the old streets once more, Daniel is approached by a figure who reminds him of a character from La Sombra del Viento, a character who turns out to be the devil. This man is tracking down every last copy of Carax’s work in order to burn them. What begins as a case of literary curiosity turns into a race to find out the truth behind the life and death of Julian Carax and to save those he left behind. A page-turning exploration of obsession in literature and love, and the places that obsession can lead.

JMCARTEE RECOMMENDS:

One Second After by William R. Forstchen

One Second After by William R. Forstchen is my favorite book. It takes place in a mountain town in North Carolina. It shows how a father, his two daughters, and his mother in law survive a mysterious EMP blast that wipes out everything that has a motherboard. This story grips you and will not let go. You just want to keep reading, and reading, and reading. The story has its moments of adrenalin pumping action, to melancholy sadness, to times of a few laughs. I know, for me, that I couldn’t put this book down. If you are familiar with the area that the book is set in, I know some of you are not, but you who are, it will hit you hard. It goes through the breakdown in society when it is cut off from the rest of the world. It shows what would happen to a town if all communication and anything that ran off of electronics was to break down. I think everyone needs to read this book, even if its not your kind of book. It has personally affected me in a way that will stick with me forever. I’m so picky about choosing my favorites for anything, but this is definitely my favorite book of all time(second to the Bible of course 🙂 ).

Synopsis from barnesandnoble.com:

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real…a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages…A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

MOMFOG RECOMMENDS:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I adore Jane Austen and I read every one of her novels every summer.  Why?  Because they’re pleasant, funny, and always have a happy ending.  In short, the perfect care-free summer read.  I recommend starting with Pride and Prejudice because it’s Jane Austen’s best.  The main character, Elizabeth Bennett is divinely clever and stubborn, especially in her dealings with the handsome and complex Mr. Darcy.  Jane Austen is an astute observer of society and uses this great love story to show what can happen when silly gossip and wounded vanity get the best of us.

Synopsis from barnesandnoble.com:

‘It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.’ Thus memorably begins Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, one of the world’s most popular novels. Pride and Prejudice—Austen’s own ‘darling child’—tells the story of fiercely independent Elizabeth Bennet, one of five sisters who must marry rich, as she confounds the arrogant, wealthy Mr. Darcy. What ensues is one of the most delightful and engrossingly readable courtships known to literature, written by a precocious Austen when she was just twenty-one years old.

Humorous and profound, and filled with highly entertaining dialogue, this witty comedy of manners dips and turns through drawing-rooms and plots to reach an immensely satisfying finale. In the words of Eudora Welty, Pride and Prejudice is as ‘irresistible and as nearly flawless as any fiction could be.’

14 thoughts on “June Staff Picks

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m so glad I found this blog! As a book addict (I’ve had books in my hands since before I could read – there is photographic proof), and hopefully published author one day, I am so looking forward to reading future posts! I’m always looking for a good book to read, and ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ sounds especially interesting.

    • We’re glad you found us, too! It’s new but we’re off to a promising start. Noirciplume has unique and interesting tastes. She’ll be back soon. She’s off roughing it in Canada.

  2. @momfrog thanks for the link to this blog on the forums. I so love The Shadow of the Wind. It was an exchange book with a friend while I had a 18hr stop over in London. This is a book I will read again.

  3. I’d just like to share what I’m reading now: The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber. I’m half way though it and am enjoying the read. It was difficult to get into at the beginning as the author changes POV very often, now that Im with the flow of the book Im hooked. Anyone else read this book?

  4. @momfog – sure I’d love to give a review of this book. Do you have review guidelines?
    @trsgrv – The meaning of which title? The Crimson Petal and the White? If you are referring to that book, I have no idea at this time. Still have about 300pages to go.

    • I don’t think there’s any specific guidelines, other than what is in the Postiing Policies page. Let me know when you have the review ready and I’ll get back to you on how to post it.

  5. I read Pride and Prejudice many years ago (just for fun.) I think I was about 16 or 17 at the time. I just recently re-read it a few months ago for my book club. It’s a good “female” book, yes. However, it’s not one of my favourites. I hate to say this… but literary classics are just not my cup of tea. I prefer modern or contemporary reads.

    • Classics aren’t for everyone. I romanticize them too much, perhaps. I’ve been trying to read more contemporary novels but I honestly don’t know where to begin. What would you suggest?

      • Thanks. I’ll have to check it out after I read Water for Elephants, which I had on my shelf forever (before it burned) and now have on my Nook (also for a while). Not sure why I haven’t read it yet.

Leave a Reply

