March Staff Picks

NOIRCIPLUME RECOMMENDS:

Mort by Terry Pratchett

My love for the Discworld series continues. Mort is the third novel by Terry Pratchett, and I can assure you that he keeps getting better. Mort had me laughing all the way through the end. Who knew Death would be so fun and witty? The relationship between Death and Mort is priceless. The novel is a great continuation of the series. A great addition to any bookshelf. If you are in need of a good laugh, then you should definitely Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series.

Synopsis via Goodreads.com:

Death comes to us all.  When he came to Mort, he offered him a job.

After being assured that being dead was not compulsory, Mort accepted.  However, he soon found that romantic longings did not mix easily with the responsibilities of being Death’s apprentice…

JMCARTEE RECOMMENDS:

The Soulkeepers #1 by G.P. Ching

 I got this book while I was looking through the free books on iBooks. It looked alright, so I downloaded it and began reading. This is G.P. Ching’s debut novel, and its a hard hitter. It felt like I was reading a book wrote by someone who has been writing bestsellers for 30 years. Its an interesting tale, that kept me wanting to read more. Its got that feel to it, the one that drags you right into the story and makes you feel as if you were there.

Synopsis via Goodreads.com

When fifteen-year-old Jacob Lau is pulled from the crumpled remains of his mother’s car, no one can explain why he was driving or why the police can’t find his mother’s body. A beautiful and mysterious neighbor offers to use her unique abilities to help him find his mom.

But in exchange she requires Jacob to train as a Soulkeeper, a protector of human souls. He agrees to her demands, desperate for any clue to the mystery of his mother’s disappearance. But soon Jacob finds himself trapped in a web of half-truths, and questions her motives for helping him.

MOMFOG RECOMMENDS:

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close book cover

Inexplicably, I hadn’t heard of this book before the movie of the same name was nominated for a couple of Academy Awards.  The movie looked fairly interesting.  Since it’s a rule of mine never to see a movie based on a book before I’ve read the book, I borrowed it from a Nook friend.  I’ve only read the first 50 pages and it’s not at all what I expected.  I can’t wait to finish it and write my review.

Synopsis via Goodreads.com:

Nine-year-old Oskar Schell has embarked on an urgent, secret mission that will take him through the five boroughs of New York. His goal is to find the lock that matches a mysterious key that belonged to his father, who died in the World Trade Center on the morning of September 11. This seemingly impossible task will bring Oskar into contact with survivors of all sorts on an exhilarating, affecting, often hilarious, and ultimately healing journey.

(less)

One thought on “March Staff Picks

  1. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer is one of my favourite books. The movie was also good, but it focussed much less on Asperger’s Syndrome than the book (this is a downfall in my view). The protagonist was much more adorable and funny in the book than in the film (think chapter numbering beginning with number 2), but the ending was much more touching in the film—I won’t write it because you haven’t read it yet 😉

    The book and film together paint two different pictures of Asperger’s, which I find very interesting.

    I haven’t gotten around to reviewing this on my blog yet but I’ll give it ★★★★★ when I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

