A Dickens of a Tale

A happy first of July to our readers. I don’t know why it has taken me this long to write a post to you all, but it has. I blame it on a lack of motivation. Every week I scream at myself for not writing a blog post on We Heart Reading, until today that is. Something is definitely circling in the air. Perhaps it is down to having, an overall happy sunday. Subsequently, a new month means a fresh new theme. I am very fond of this theme. I hope you will enjoy it too. In good time, I will eventually create a new blog header for We Heart Reading.

Regardless, I should give a long overdue welcome to Carrie Slager. She has kept this blog alive. I applaud her for this. And I apologise for leaving her alone in this library of book reviews. She has written some amazing book reviews in the past, and long may it continue.

Nevertheless, I have been reading a large mixture of books. My fondness of Terry Pratchett continues. It’s a great short read for bedtime; filled with comedic characters to keep you entertained. You can never go wrong with a bit of Pratchett.

As much as I love Pratchett, it doesn’t fully satisfy my imagination. Hence, I read a whole load of classical literature. I swear to myself that I was definitely born in the wrong century. I swoon over Jane Austen novels, Sense and Sensibility to Pride and Prejudice. It has always become an addiction of mine. Perchance, I have a secret devotion for romance novels. My most recent addiction was Little Dorrit. A tale of poverty and wealth. It was written by the famous novelist, Charles Dickens. Instead of reading the novel first, I broke the rules and watched the entire BBC miniseries, twice. Indeed, I loved it so much, that I managed to watch an eight-hour miniseries twice in one month. Why, you may ask? I simply fell in love with the two leading characters, Amy Dorrit and Arthur Clennam. Even better, Mr. Arthur Clennam was played by Matthew Macfadyen. The Mr. Darcy of Pride and Prejudice. So that is the main reason why I watched it twice.

Finally, I begin this long journey in reading Little Dorrit. I do believe this is my first Charles Dickens adventure. I have always watched his novels, but never read them. Thus, here is the chance for me to get stuck into Dickens. I am relishing the challenge to read 700 pages with tiny text. I’m a girl who loves thickness. The thicker the better in my case.

8 thoughts on “A Dickens of a Tale

  1. I cannot, for the life of me, read Charles Dickens. Great Expectations is practically catching dust, the thickness caught my eye (I’m a fan of those tombs too) and I’ve heard people singing his praises. Old English (I believe that’s the term) is fascinating yet at the same time a bit frustrating to wade through and that I believe is the root of it all. I really don’t want to let a great book go unread especially when I practically have it within my reach.

    As for Austin’s Pride and Prejudice, I’d watch it fifty times because of Matthew Macfadyen (he’s in the one with Kira Nightly, right?) and because I liked the story and not entirely because of him I can assure you …er… really. These books are the few exceptions that I’d watch the movies than read them. The only Dicken’s movie I’ve seen would be Oliver Twist which was just lovely and heart breaking.

    I’ll come by more often, now I’m off to see the rest of this pretty blog 😀

    • Thank you Devina for your comment. So far, Charles Dickens is proving to be ok for me. It’s still to early to say though. Will let you know if I ever finish it, lol.

      I do love the Pride and Prejudice movie too. Not as good as the BBC miniseries with Colin Firth, but Matthew Macfadyen plays a great Mr. Darcy.

  2. Pingback: A Dickens of a Tale | We Heart Reading | Upcoming Books

Leave a Reply

