What Makes A Book So Engaging?

What makes a book so engaging?

Chances are if you’re reading this blog, you’ve read a book that you’ve found very engaging. I know for certain most of the books that I have read, engaged me in such a way that I actually felt I was in the story. One book that enticed me so much and made me feel attached to it was Stephen King’s The Stand. I hope to examine and explain the factors that make a book so astounding and gripping, that you cant quit turning the pages.

The Plot

The Plot makes the book what it is. Without a plot, there would be no book. The Plot of a books basically means what happens in the book. It doesn’t really get much more simple than that. The Plot can be long and extensive, or it can be short and to the point. No matter the size, if the Plot is of good quality content, it will make the book an enjoyable read.

How Relatable The Plot Is

If the plot is something most people can relate to, it will make the book more enjoyable. For instance, if someone is reading a novel about a rock climber on a dangerous climb, and the person reading it just so happens to be a rock climber, they would enjoy the book. But it doesn’t have to be that specific. People like you and I can relate to most books out there, and that is what makes most of us enjoy a lot of books.

How Relatable The Characters Are

When I was reading The Stand I could relate to Stu Redman. He was the person who led most of the survivors of the super-flu. He felt the need to protect them. I’m in a leadership position at my job, and it just feels right. I feel that I need to protect people. Kind of strange, but that is just me. If you can relate to characters on a deep level of connectivity, that makes the story even better.

The Use of Literary Devices

Good authors know that using Literary Devices help entice the reader even more. Using ones like metaphors, similes, and personification can add detail to the story, and the reader can be even more attracted to the book by those simple devices, and not even know it.

Metaphors

A metaphor is a comparison of two unlike things, that have something in common. An example of a metaphor is “Life is a rollercoaster”. Life and rollercoaster’s have nothing in common, but the fact that they both have their ups and downs is the one thing that they do.

Similes

A simile is the comparison of two different things using like or as. Using small detail enriching devices like a simile creates an even more pleasant experience for the reader. An example of a smile is “He fights like a lion” or “He is strong as the gods”.

Personification

Personification is giving personality traits to objects that have no personality. Using this literary device provides the author even more ways to pack in emotions to things that would not have emotions. An example of personification is “The Stars played gracefully in the night sky”.

Using simple strategies can turn a normal plot into something so extravagant and amazing that it entices readers and makes the novel they’re reading engage them in such a way that they feel as though they are walking along side the characters, feeling the same pain and happiness that the characters feel.

2 thoughts on “What Makes A Book So Engaging?

  1. Funny enough, I really don’t look for similes, metaphors, personification or other literary devices. I notice if they’re present, but they’re not really a big thing for me unless they’re used way too often. But I definitely agree with you on how relatable the plot and characters are really affects my overall enjoyment.

  2. The only things that matter to me are the characters and the plot and how both develop. Of course good writing skills are a must, but I never pay attention to the literary devices an author uses.

Leave a Reply

