Book Review: Under The Dome – Stephen King

Under The Dome – Stephen King

Under The Dome is a fictional novel by Stephen King. He started on this book in the 70’s and 80’s but dropped off and did not pick up writing it again until the mid 2000’s. It is set in a small town in Maine, but the story itself is huge.

A mysterious invisible dome drops down over Chesters Mill, Maine, and renders the small town cut off from the outside world. It is semipermeable, but that doesn’t matter, the dome is indestructible. Nothing but scant amounts of air and water can penetrate it, and everything else gets bounced back upon impact. As the residents of Chesters Mill fear for their lives, something more sinister is going on behind the scenes, and some of the residents are involved. Read this book, and become instantly submerged into the scared lives of the residents under the dome.

When I first started this book, I read through the first 1/4 of it, after that, I stopped reading it for awhile for no particular reason. Upon starting to read it again, I was hooked. I was reading this every chance I got. Its another one of King’s awesome novels, and the plot and climax is amazing. The ending was meh. It seemed as if he rushed the ending, and it left me wanting more. Otherwise, all throughout the book it is absolutely spectacular. Like I said, the ending could have been better, but nonetheless, it is a fantastic book.

I rate this book 4/5 stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Under The Dome – Stephen King

  1. I’ve heard of this one before, one of his latest I think. It sounds interesting enough but my curiosity of Stephen King was short lived when it led me to Misery which was double meh. Actually I haven’t finished it, and so I’m reluctant to try another but there’s a lot of people that I’ve heard saying that his other works were much better so I might just consider adding this to my to-read shelf.

    • Some of his books are in fact meh, but theres a few gems out there. Easily his best novel IMO is The Stand. Cell was really good(ill be doing a review of it today), but it left loose ends.

  2. I thought this was one of King’s best, and I’ve read a lot of his stories. When an invisible barrier suddenly surrounds the town of Chester’s Mill, Maine, the people are imprisoned there and become involved in a scheme that includes drugs and murder.

Leave a Reply

